Creators & freelancers

Buy Me a Coffee Fee Calculator (2026)

Buy Me a Coffee keeps 5% of every payment. Stripe processing of 2.9% + $0.30 (plus 0.5% on memberships and 1% on non-US cards) comes out of your earnings unless you turn off "Cover credit card fee," in which case supporters pay it on top.

Fees verified Sep 29, 2026 United States · USD Sources

Enter your numbers above; results update as you type. Sales tax collected from the buyer is not included unless the platform charges a fee on it and the calculator has a tax field.

Buy Me a Coffee fees at a glance

FeeRateApplies to
Buy Me a Coffee platform fee5%support amount. 5% per transaction; you keep 95% before processing.
Stripe processing (deducted from you)2.9% + $0.30support amount; only when “Supporter covers the credit card fee” is off. 2.9% + $0.30 per successful transaction when "Cover credit card fee" is on.
Stripe processing (paid by supporter) (paid by buyer)2.9% + $0.30support amount; only when “Supporter covers the credit card fee” is on. Added to the supporter's charge instead: a $25 contribution is charged $26.03.
Stripe subscription surcharge0.5%support amount; Type of payment: Membership (recurring). +0.5% on subscription (membership) payments.
Stripe international card surcharge1%support amount; only when “Supporter's card is from outside the US” is on. +1% for transactions from outside the US.

Worked example

Sale
$5.00
Fees
$0.70
You keep
$4.30

A $5 coffee from a US card pays Buy Me a Coffee 5%, or $0.25. Stripe takes 2.9% of $5 ($0.145) plus $0.30, which rounds to $0.45. Total fees are $0.70, so $4.30 is credited to your balance; with no cost, profit is $4.30.

How Buy Me a Coffee fees work

Buy Me a Coffee is a support page for creators: fans send a one-time "coffee" at a price you set, join a monthly or yearly membership, or buy extras such as downloads, commissions, and shop items. Payments run through Stripe, and there is no monthly fee for any feature.

The platform fee is 5% of every transaction, so you keep 95% before processing. Stripe then charges 2.9% + $0.30 per successful transaction, plus 0.5% on subscription (membership) payments and 1% when the supporter's card is from outside the US. Stripe also takes 0.5% when it processes your payout.

On a $5 coffee from a US card that is $0.25 to Buy Me a Coffee and $0.45 to Stripe, leaving $4.30. On a $25 one-time support, fees are $1.25 + $1.03, leaving $22.72.

One setting changes the math. Under Settings, "Cover credit card fee" decides who pays Stripe's charge. Leave it on and the 2.9% + $0.30 comes out of your earnings; switch it off and supporters pay it on top, so a $25 contribution is charged $26.03 and you receive the full $25 minus the 5% platform fee. Payouts can be requested once your balance reaches $10 and go to your Stripe account, then your bank.

Ways to keep more of each Buy Me a Coffee sale

Buy Me a Coffee fee FAQ

How much does Buy Me a Coffee take from $5?

$0.25 in platform fee (5%) plus $0.45 in Stripe processing (2.9% + $0.30), so you keep $4.30. If supporters cover the card fee, you keep $4.75.

Does Buy Me a Coffee charge a monthly fee?

No. All features, including memberships, publishing, and emails, are free. The only cost is 5% per transaction plus Stripe processing.

What percentage does Buy Me a Coffee take?

5% of each payment. Stripe's processing of 2.9% + $0.30 (plus 0.5% for memberships and 1% for non-US cards) is separate, and a 0.5% Stripe fee applies at payout.

Can supporters pay the credit card fee instead of me?

Yes. Turn off "Cover credit card fee" under Settings and the processing fee is added to their charge: a $25 contribution is billed $26.03.

What is the minimum payout on Buy Me a Coffee?

$10. Once your balance reaches $10 you can request a payout, which is transferred to your Stripe account and then your bank after moderation approval.

Does Buy Me a Coffee use PayPal?

Buy Me a Coffee's fee article covers Stripe only; it accepts major credit cards, Apple Pay, and Google Pay. PayPal fees are not part of its published fee schedule.

Is the 5% fee charged on memberships too?

Yes. The 5% applies to every transaction type. Memberships also carry Stripe's extra 0.5% subscription surcharge on top of 2.9% + $0.30.

Good to know

Stripe's 0.5% payout processing fee is charged on the amount paid out, not per payment, so it is described but not modeled. Buy Me a Coffee's supporter-covers example ($26.03 on $25) matches Stripe's 2.9% + $0.30 only; whether the 0.5% membership and 1% international surcharges are also passed to supporters is not stated, so the calculator keeps them on the creator's side. Payouts require a $10 balance and moderation approval; timing was not stated.

Sources

Rates are read from the pages above and re-checked on a schedule. If you find a rate that has changed, tell us and we'll fix it.